Before reading Berry’s article I never really considered myself a part of agriculture, but after reading it became clearer to me that every person actually does play a big part in the agriculture that takes place today. Just by eating the food I am playing a part. Therefore, in some sense, I am encouraging the “negative” farming ways that have been inhabited over many years. I became very curious about where my fruits, vegetables, and meats were coming from. I have absolutely no idea, except for the fact that I know they come from the food store. After reading this article and especially after watching Food Inc. I really want to start knowing where my food is coming from, and at least know that the foods I’m eating are healthy. Maybe I’ll start buying fruit from local suppliers. 
         Pollan discusses a lot of different things within the piece that I read. Before reading this, I never really thought of our country having an “eating disorder”, but our dieting habits have definitely changed and continue to get worse. When Pollan discussed the day that he spent on the farm, it really made me start thinking about the crops that are planted, grown, and sold. Pollan discusses the chemicals that are used to make the corn grow faster, but what I was thinking about was the diesel in the tractor. I’m sure the diesel fumes add even more chemicals to the crops, and I really don’t like the idea that all of those fumes are on the land. There are just so many chemicals in today’s crops, and like I said before, I really might consider changing what I eat.




Leave a Reply.