Collaboration is the “coming together” of one or more individuals to form one whole. There are many aspects of collaboration that I never really noticed before. The examples at the beginning of the article opened my eyes, and I was actually able to connect with these examples. When collaborating you have to be open to new ideas and be able to make new meanings of things. Collaboration won’t work if you are closed-minded. One form of collaboration, which I think happens the most, is dividing and then collaborating. In this case, the students would split the work load and then come together at the end to put everything together. I believe this happens the most because everyone wants to feel like the work is divided easily. Also, it is very hard to establish a time period where everyone in the group can meet at once. In the article they referred to this as “cooperative” not “collaborative”. 
         I have done a lot of collaboration in school. Almost every class that I have taken has involved working in a group with at least one or more other classmates. Every single education class, that I have taken, has involved working in partners or groups. Right now, I am taking Curriculum and Assessment, and I have a partner that I go to my observations with. This partner and I are currently creating a lesson plan together. It’s not very easy, though. I like to get things done a head of time, while he likes to wait to the last minute. Somehow we make it work though. We have to change our routines in order to succeed. In this class, we are currently involved with collaboration. So far, my group has decided on a topic that we will research. We didn’t all agree on a topic, at first, but after talking and hearing different ideas we agreed on it. When we meet as a group next, hopefully we will decide who will do what for this project.




Leave a Reply.