My group and I did our interview last Tuesday, April 10th. We had our interview with Scott Smith, the head manager of Sodexo at Manor Care in Washington Township. Our interview was very successful, in my eyes. We learned a lot about Sodexo, the food company that supplies Rowan University. Sodexo has a very tight budget for the people who are supplied by Sodexo, and once a company is given a budget it cannot change until the contract is up. Sodexo gets all of their meats from a company called Sysco, and it sounded like a lot of the meat is frozen. Also, Scott Smith informed us that he goes to Duffield’s to get his fresh fruits and vegetables. We also learned that Duffield’s does not use pesticides or other chemicals, but they cannot afford to be labeled “organic”. Being labeled organic is very pricey. Our interview gave us a lot of insight, and it really made us start thinking about the direction of our research project.
        When conducting our interview, we used my iPhone to record the interview. I have never used the recorder on my phone so I was a little nervous, but it worked very well. After the interview I tried emailing myself the conversation from my phone, but the length of the interview was too long to send. I ‘m not going to lie, I started to panic! However, I hooked my iPhone up to my computer and uploaded the interview that way. When I tried posting the interview to my Weebly website I had a lot of trouble. I couldn’t just upload the audio because I don’t have the WeeblyPro. However, I looked at the students’ websites from last semester and got the idea to use Sound Cloud. My interview is now successfully posted, and I’m very proud of myself for figuring all of that out.




Leave a Reply.